Learning & Teaching Overview

Our Catholic school at Stella Maris is a sacred landscape where faith, culture and life are in dialogue and where learners are empowered to shape and enrich their world with meaning, purpose and hope derived from their encounter with life and the teachings of Jesus.

At Stella Maris our Curriculum is based on the Australian Curriculum. We ensure that the learning and teaching offered to our students is rigorous, relevant and personalised. The learning and teaching approach in Years P–6 is inquiry integrated based that aims to engage our students in the contemporary world by:

  • Supporting the learner.
  • Enabling the learner.
  • Engaging the learner in a contemporary world.

Our curriculum is designed to engage students in the contemporary world leads students to develop deep understandings about themselves, others and the world. Building learning relationships within the global and local community creates authentic opportunities for students to learn from and with others. Powerful learning experiences enable students to take responsibility for themselves and commit to authentic action.

Teaching and Learning programs at Stella Maris also support and promote the principles and practice of Australian Democracy which includes a commitment to the elected Government, equal rights for all before the law, freedom of Religion, speech and association and the values of openness and tolerance. The nine values for Australian Schooling are on display in the foyer of the school. The values are; Care and Compassion, Doing Your best, Fair Go, Freedom, Honesty & Trustworthiness, Integrity, Respect, Responsibility, Understanding, Tolerance & Inclusion. The children discuss and embrace these values through their application in their everyday lives.

Australian Curriculum Overview

The Australian Curriculum includes learning areas, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities that together support 21st century learning. It sets consistent high standards for what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It prepares Australia’s next generation for the future and lays the building blocks for generations to come.

The Australian Curriculum focuses on learning area content and achievement standards that describe what students will learn and teachers will teach. It pays explicit attention to how seven general capabilities and three cross-curriculum priorities contribute to, and can be developed through each learning area.

The seven general capabilities are literacy, numeracy, information and communication technology capability, critical and creative thinking, personal and social capability, ethical understanding, and inter-cultural understanding. Learning continua are available for each capability, which describe the relevant knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions at particular points of schooling.